Death Note News- Banned

4 06 2010

kira screenshot

Death note

death note

death note

Just recently our loving anime/manga death note series were in a problem with a locate school.

In New Mexico’s Albuquerque Public Schools system, Most of the committee voted unanimously against a proposed district-wide ban on the manga.

Peggy Salazar was the name of the mother who`s student goes to Albuquerque’s Volcano Vista High School, advocated for the ban and stated, “Killing is just not something we should put out there for our kids to read in this way.

According to the KRQE News 13 program, this is the first time in five years that the district had considered banning a book,this was a rare event for both the manga company (death note) and the TV production news channel.

Actions

Information

22 responses

9 06 2010
Yoko-chan

I am totally speechless. Just can’t believe this! How about we just ban all fiction stories? In some way or another they could give kids some weird ideas, right? Let’s ban Peter Pan! Kids would probably jump off their balconies thinking they can fly. It’s ridiculous… At least that’s my opinion. I love Death Note and i think it has one of the best storylines out there. Then again… i’m not actually a kid anymore and i don’t have kids of my own yet, but i would definetly allow them to read Death Note.
Thanks a lot for this piece of infomation ! 🙂

9 06 2010
animelovers411

hello , nice to meet you

your completely right! , i think there overreacting the whole thing.I understand that parents want to keep there kids safe , but theres more things in this world that can influence them.I mean there are plenty of shows and people who can influence them into worse things.Like you said the peter pan thing , I mean really , its insane to me.I love deathnote so much a huge fan and ive bought like all the movies and all the comics.I support it like theres no tomorrow , and I will support it.This was an anime/manga that was a stepping stone to other animes and manga.

thanks for the comment and nice to meet you

9 06 2010
Yoko-chan

First of all i’m really sorry i didn’t even properly greet. It was that big of a shock for me. 😀 It’s really nice to meet you too!
I agree with everything you said. You know, back when i was very little, Mary Poppins was very popular here and yes, a little girl who lived next to my appartment building jumped off the balcony holding an umbrella. That is a fact. But let’s think of Death Note. What can kids copy? They can get a notebook and write down names, right? I think it’s safe to say that Death Note is more harmless than Mary Poppins, right? Why don’t they ban that? There are so many things that could harm children’s education and way of thinking, things that are far more dangerous and effective than a fiction book…
I will definetly keep on reccommending Death Note as one of the best animes out there and also the movies were absolutelly fantastic. Banning it is just wrong…

11 06 2010
animelovers411

its ok ,

I love all anime but deathnote is one of my favorite i will totally do the same as you , I loved this anime and well support it for a great deal of time.

This was a shock to me as well , Its just liek you said they made a big deal of something that is little and simple i mean think of it , kids will right in a notebook peoples name , hey that might help more then hurt if you think about it.An Example it helps there writing skills and spelling skills.

Deathnote did nothing to hurt or influnce kids into doing crazy things so to me i think this was just a big deal of nothing.

by the way great blog you have

11 06 2010
animelovers411

Great post on your blog too 🙂

11 06 2010
Yoko-chan

Sometimes i think i don’t understand people at all anymore because of these stupid things they do. When i think i’ve seen the weirdest thing they could think of, they come and surprise me again. Death Note is an awesome series and those people should stop and seriously ask themselves what harm it can do… Because the way i see it… i just can’t think of anything!

Thanks a lot! So is yours! I’ve also started following you on Twitter. (actually Twitter is more like a fangirling place for me 😀 )

12 06 2010
animelovers411

whats your twitter?

11 06 2010
animelovers411

yea , I hear ya its like people are just slow or something , cause theres no harm in being a fan of an anime that just writes peoples names in there books , i mean theres some anime out there that could influnce worse like killing people , and things such as bleach , or code geass , or even some older anime`s i mean overall anime are not for kids there for younger adults and things you need to be mature to watch anime so im sure there smart enough not to be influnced so badly you knoe

oh ok thats great ill follow you back!!1

14 06 2010
Yoko-chan

My Twitter @anderayoko
The problem is that many people don’t understand the difference between animes and regular cartoons. On Saturday i went at my cousin’s house for her husband’s birthday. They’re a little over 30. All people there were about the same age (except for me 😀 ). At some point we started talking about what TV series we watch and a guy said that he prefers watching Naruto. He was over 35. So me and him we started talking about Naruto and Bleach and Death Note and all that while the others were like: “What are they talking about??” And we tryed to explain what an anime is, but at the end they still had their own opinion that an anime is the same thing with a cartoon. It is kinda difficult to make others understand if they don’t watch i guess.

22 06 2010
Tuesday’s Wallpaper: Ryuzaki “L” & Near « Anime World

[…] nevertheless. Speaking of Death Note, did you hear about it being banned? I read about it here and i couldn’t believe it. I have to express my frustrations one more time. How in the world […]

29 06 2010
iruvienne

Hai there. I decided to open with «kids these days…»
I have heard of this before. I do wonder why people always put the blame on something else. (smile) I guess it’s easier to accept than admit my child is
a) a badass mass-murderer wannabe in training
b) vulnerable to Light’s evil side brainwash (awesomeness is overwhelming)
c) a long time hardcore Death Note fan
d) a person who fancies to write with style in a cool notebook
e) a kid with Light Yagami as alter ego/idol/fantasy/GOD
f) a student that wants a fashionable diary
g) someone with issues
h) all of them

Feel free to pick.
It’s obvious, people have their mind for some reason. I seriously won’t discuss any further because it’s ridiculous (and you already said it all).
@ animelovers411
Yup, same here, my first completed series, got all of the volumes. I don’t like to specify, but it’s most probably my favourite series.
@ Yoko-chan
Seriously? Poor kid. Well, I do agree you need to be very attentive when children are on that age of learning and etc, but even so, there are some things you have to realise for yourself. I like Mary Poppins.

29 06 2010
animelovers411

hey , wow great comment , its also nice to meet you

you completely got it , just overall the adults were overreacting there`s nothing more nothing less, I guess we should of saw it coming as while

30 06 2010
iruvienne

(smile) Nice to meet you.

Agreed.

30 06 2010
animelovers411

i love deathnote too

29 06 2010
Yoko-chan

Yep, Iru-chan, the Mary Poppins kid was actually real unfortunatedly. But how about all the millions of fans Mary Poppins has all over the world and turned out quite all right? How can one case affect millions of people? Well anywayz, you are right. It is ridiculous.
By the way, Iru-chan, would you like to join the Animelovers411 forum? You have the link over here on the side bar and on my side bar also. (Sorry for the unrelated question here, Zero! Iru-chan writes the greatest anime/manga reviews ever so i would want her to join the forum also. He he!)

30 06 2010
animelovers411

no problem wow , thanks so much for that , im so glad your helping me out and things and also like the forum so much that you would recommend it haha you rock Yoko- Chan

30 06 2010
iruvienne

Indeed.
Am going to check it!
Too…too kind (blush)

30 06 2010
animelovers411

hah good then yay!!!

30 06 2010
Yoko-chan

I love the forum! It’s really awesome! And i love the RPG section. Hope we’ll have a fanfiction section also. 😀

6 07 2010
Manga Therapy

Thank god for common sense prevailing. I think people need to stop punishing those who think certain things. If people think a certain way, at least try talking to them and understand where they’re coming from. I actually wrote about this on my blog. You can check it out at:

http://www.mangatherapy.com/post/777642347/impactofdeathnote

I’m curious about how you feel about the earlier Death Note-related incidents, like it being banned in mainland China and such.

7 07 2010
animelovers411

hello , nice to meet you ,

well i feel that its just crazy for it all and it hurts more of the company then anything i mean they should fight for it not to be banned and , its really strange that something like that would happen

by the way awesome blog hope to talk to you more

7 07 2010
Manga Therapy

Thank you very much! Nice to meet you as well.

It does hurt the company. I just think parents and conservatives really overreact to certain things when it comes to protecting their children. They seem more worried about protecting kids than other serious problems out there. Although some kids NEED to be “protected”, but overall, people just need to stop being so judgmental.

Leave a Reply

